Civic Trust Awards celebrate 65 years

New Temple Complex by James Gorst Architects for The White Eagle Lodge © Rory Gardiner. Clay brickwork is set within chalk lime mortar on a timber frame.

The Civic Trust Awards recently celebrated its 65th Anniversary with an awards ceremony held at The Concorde Conference Centre, Altrincham. More than 320 projects were entered from across the UK, Canada, France, Germany, Lithuania, Malta, Poland and USA, reflecting the schemes continuing international reach. Following an extensive assessment process, 140 projects were recognised as Regional Finalists and from these, 68 were presented with National/International Awards or were Highly Commended by the Civic Trust Awards, Pro-Tem Awards, AABC Conservation Awards and Selwyn Goldsmith Awards for Universal Design. 

An awards ceremony, which took place on 22 March saw 350 architects, council leaders and built environment professionals from all over the world come together to celebrate the outstanding achievements of those who have contributed to our communities through their work in architecture, urban design, planning, public realm and public art.

Hope Street © Fotohaus
Hope Street, Southampton, South West by Snug Architects © Fotohaus

The 2024 winners included:

  • 20-23 Greville Street, Camden, Greater London by Groupwork
  • Clifford's Tower, York, Yorkshire by Hugh Broughton Architects & Martin Ashley Architects
  • Croft 3, Isle of Mull, Scotland by fardaa
  • Gainsborough's House, Babergh, Eastern by ZMMA
  • Hay Castle, Powys, Wales by MICA Architects
  • Hope Street, Southampton, South West by Snug Architects
  • REWE Green Farming, Wiesbaden, Germany by ACME
  • Hardwick Old Hall, Chesterfield, East Midlands by Donald Insall Associates
  • Shrewsbury Flaxmill Maltings, Shropshire, West Midlands by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
Cliffords Tower © Dirk Lindner
Clifford's Tower, York, Yorkshire by Hugh Broughton Architects & Martin Ashley Architects © Dirk Lindner

A further six highly coveted Special Awards were given to schemes which have demonstrated truly outstanding work in a specific field. All projects of National/International award-winning standard were considered for each of the Special Awards by National Judging Panel members who determined the individual winners.

  • National Panel Special Award: Selected by National Judging Panel Members as the exemplar scheme from the year’s award-winning projects – New Temple Complex by James Gorst Architects for The White Eagle Lodge.
  • Special Award for Sustainability: Presented to an exemplar project, that demonstrates excellent sustainability credentials in terms of overall design parameters, material selection, construction methods and long-term energy consumption. Sponsored by Derwent London – New Temple Complex by James Gorst Architects for The White Eagle Lodge
  • Special Award for Reuse & Adaptation: Presented to an exceptional scheme that would otherwise be left to decay or be demolished to address present-day needs. The scheme should benefit the community and its users by maintaining its cultural heritage or restoring a culturally significant site, ensuring its viability for new uses and modern functions. Sponsored by EPR Architects – Tower Hamlets Town Hall by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris for London Borough of Tower Hamlets.
  • Special Award for Education: Presented to an exemplar education building which inspires creativity, independence, and a love of learning. Designed to nurture the intellectual, physical, social, and emotional development of students and to meet and exceed the needs of staff. Sponsored by BlueLight Management – Alfreton Park School by Curl la Tourelle Head Architecture for Derbyshire County Council
  • Special Award for Community Impact & Engagement: Presented to an exceptional scheme that has demonstrated how successful community engagement can help deliver the highest standards of design whilst meeting the needs of local people – Roundhouse Works by Paddy Dillon Architects with Reed Watts Architects for Roundhouse Trust
  • Michael Middleton Special Award: Presented as a memorial and tribute to Michael Middleton CBE, who established the Civic Trust Awards in 1959, to an outstanding restoration project or new build within a conservation area – Bokšto Skveras by Studio Seilern Architects and UAB Archinova for Baltisches Haus